On day 5, there was a change up in the medications

  
After my regularly scheduled blood test on Monday, everything is on track and I’m ready for a change up in medications. No more pills, but instead another needle – Ganirelix. (Instruction video.)

This is the first drug I have had any reactions which includes red, blotchy patches that itch like crazy from the time I inject myself until I go to sleep. Luckily, when I wake up the next morning it’s always gone. After reading up on the side effects, this seems to be a less serious side effect and at this point in time I’m going with the attitude that the benefits will outweigh this inconvenience.

I posted a picture below. Don’t scroll down if you don’t want to see my lovely abdomen in it’s blotchy red and bruised glory. 

(On a side note, my period also went away during this time so the side effects are not related to my menstrual cycle.)

Night 5
Estimated time:  20 minutes
Pain on a scale of 1 to 10:  3
Marks: Three red pinhead marks, red swollen blotchiness surrounding the injection site of Ganirelix, two bruises at the other injection sites
Side effects the next day: Soreness from bruises

Night 6
Estimated time:  20 minutes
Pain on a scale of 1 to 10:  3
Marks: Three red pinhead marks, red swollen blotchiness surrounding the injection site of Ganirelix
Side effects the next day: Tired, slight cramps

Night 7
Estimated time:  20 minutes
Pain on a scale of 1 to 10:  3
Marks: Three red pinhead marks, red swollen blotchiness surrounding the injection site of Ganirelix
Side effects the next day: Super tired, cramping, sore breasts

  (Photo of my abdomen from night 6.)

On day 5, there was a change up in the medications

One thought on “On day 5, there was a change up in the medications

Leave a comment